Selkirk is a quaint little town on the shores of Lake Erie, where there is plenty to see and do. Take a stroll along the shores of Lake Erie or Stoney Creek. Shop in any of the unique shops offering handmade crafts, antiques or collectibles. Selkirk Provincial Park has excellent camping and picnicking facilities. The park, on the shores of Lake Erie provides excellent fishing for perch, bass and catfish.
The area has a diverse history, with an assortment of industry, including Kindy’s Leathers and Furs. Established in 1866 by Daniel Kindy he began tanning in an old chicken coop. Daniel Kindy and his brother Samuel also formed a natural gas company. Daniel used the natural gas to run a large motor that was used to turn the many drums used in tanning. D. Kindy & Sons Ltd. also ran a generator off this motor to charge batteries and run lights long before hydro was readily available in this area.
Today Selkirk is home to the Wilson MacDonald Memorial School Museum, an 1872 red brick schoolhouse, the Hoover Heritage Park and Cottonwood Mansion, a restored Italianate brick mansion built as a private residence around 1870. This 6,000 sq ft mansion has 15 rooms. The first floor has twelve foot ceilings with fancy plaster cornices and medallions. The central curving staircase winds 57 stairs to the belvedere (lookout) on top. Four miles from Lake Erie, the architectural style may have been chosen for its great height and commanding views.
Festivals in the town include Heritage Day in February, the Selkirk Gas Festival and an Annual Fish Fry in August.