Kleinburg is nestled atop the Humber River Ridge and is surrounded by spectacular vistas and all the charm and character one would expect from a small community. The village was founded by John Kline in 1848 and is now home to the Famous McMichael Canadian Art Collection, which showcases 20 th century Canadian art including works by the Group of Seven as well as collections of First Nation and Inuit works. The surrounding parklands are also the burying grounds of six of the original group of seven. This group of influential painters came together in Toronto around the turn of the twentieth century. Frank Carmichael, Lawren Harris, A.Y. Jackson, Franz Johnston, Arthur Lismer, J.E.H. MacDonald and F.H. Varley set out to give Canada a truly national form of painting. Spurrred on by an association with Tom Thomson (1877-1917), these artists sought inspiration initally in the rugged northern Ontario landscape. This sprawling 100 acre tract of meadows and woodlands gives unsurpassed views of the Humber River Valley.