Mitchell, Ontario is a town located at the intersection on Huron Road 8 and highway 23 northwest of Stratford in Perth County. In 1836 the Canada Company, a large private land settlement agency, laid out a town plot (Mitchell) on the Huron Road. John Hicks, one of the areas earliest settlers erected a tavern near the point where the road crossed the Thames River. Within a few years the community had a sawmill. In 1845 the Mitchell-Blanshard Road was built allowing for a small influx of settlers who built stores and mills in the area. In 1857 the Buffalo and Lake Huron Railway was established enabling even more settlement. That year the community of Mitchell was incorporated into a Village. By 1874 the population had swelled to 2000 and the Village of Mitchell became a town. Today Mitchell is a vibrant community that prides itself in its heritage. The area celebrates several festivals; The Mitchell Kite Festival in May, The Mitchell Cornfest in August and The Mitchell Fall Fair held annually on Labour Day.