Provincial Parks
National Historic Sites
National Parks of Canada
More Cities & Towns
Conservation Areas
Credit Valley
Essex Region
Grand River
Grey Sauble
Kettle Creek
Long Point
Lower Thames Valley
Maitland Valley
Niagara Peninsula
Toronto and Region
Upper Thames
Home Things To Do Regions & Maps Accommodations Search Contact

Conservation Areas

There are 36 Conservation Authorities in southern Ontario, each governed by a Board of Directors comprised of local municipal representatives and representatives from the community.  The provincial association of conservation authorities is called Conservation Ontario. For the purpose of this website only conservation areas in the Southern Ontario region will be included.

Conservation Ontario owns more than 340,000 acres (138,000 hectares) of land in Ontario. 
Conservation Ontario has 352 conservation areas; more than 200 offer a wide range of activities and facilities. 
133,000 acres of Conservation lands are available for recreation.
More than 500,000 people visit Conservation lands every year. 
Conservation Ontario's lands include 55 historical landmarks & heritage sites.
Conservation Ontario maintains 893,000 feet of erosion control protection.
Conservation Ontario provides planning and development assistance in more than 18,000 miles (26,000 km) of valleys and floodplains in Ontario. 

Home | Things to Do | Regions & Maps | Accommodations |Search | What's New | Contact
Website content is the property of Southern Ontario Tourism Organization and is subject to copyright @2013